Vizlib Home Try Vizlib
Welcome
Login

User and Licensing FAQ

TABLE OF CONTENTS


What constitutes a Vizlib user license?


One Vizlib user license allows an individual to use a Vizlib product in their Qlik Sense environment based on their respective UserID and User directory. This is the same whether they are an app developer, app user or end-user. A Vizlib license will account for all use cases for that one named user and is the same as an assigned Qlik Sense token.

As a consequence, if a user has the same User directory/User ID in several environments, then only one Vizlib license will be consumed. 

On the other hand, a user may have the same user ID from different User directories. In this case, separate Vizlib licenses will be consumed. 


Example: 

QS environment A: David Alcobero: User Directory=Vizlib User ID= David.Alcobero 

QS environment B: David Alcobero: User Directory=Acme User ID= David.Alcobero 

QS environment C: David Alcobero: User Directory=Vizlib User ID = David.Alcobero


When David logs into all three QS environments, two Vizlib licenses will be consumed (Figure 1). 


Figure 1: UserIDs in the Qlik Server Management console


Back to Contents


How can I add a Vizlib user?


Vizlib Licenses are allocated automatically on a first-come-first-serve basis. This means each user who is using a Vizlib extension, either viewing it, or developing with it, will consume a Vizlib license and will be added to the Vizlib user list.

You can view and manage the user list by selecting Account Management in the top right of the screen, then clicking Manage in the Overview section. If you find you've allocated all your accounts (or "Seats") then you can click Upgrade to increase the number available on your plan. 


Figure 2: User Licenses


Back to Contents


Can I release Vizlib user licenses for a different user? 


Yes, when subscribed to Vizlib Professional, you can log in to the Vizlib user portal and release licenses, these will then be consumed by the next new user on a first-come-first-serve basis.



Back to Contents


Can I restrict how many end users can use Vizlib?


Vizlib Professional licenses are allocated on a first-come-first-serve basis, then assigned to a particular user until manually de-allocated via our website.

To restrict Vizlib to a certain number of users, we recommend using Qlik Sense Security Rules. You can find more information in the item How Do I limit Access to Vizlib Products on Qlik Sense in our Qlik Sense FAQ.


Back to Contents


How do you handle billing if I change the number of users mid-month?


We automatically do a pro-rata calculation. So if you have 10 users for the first half of the month and add another 3 users, you will only be charged for the additional users in the second half of the month. 

The additional pro-rated users will be billed in the next month together with the renewal.


Back to Contents


Can I add or reduce the number of users after I sign up?


Yes, you can log in to the Vizlib user portal and increase or decrease the number of users as you wish. You can find this information in the Overview section of your user profile, clicking Manage to open the user list, or Upgrade to move to another payment plan (Figure 3). Your subscription will automatically be charged pro-rata with the new invoice updated at the end of the month.


Figure 3: Account Overview - Users


Back to Contents


How do I know when to renew my license?


If you've subscribed to a Vizlib product, you'll receive a notification 7 days before the license expires. The notification appears in any sheet where you're working with the product, and contains the details shown in Figure 4

  • An email for your licensing contact, or an administrator. 
  • The name of the product (or products) due to expire e.g. Vizlib Library.
  • The number of days until the license expires. 


Figure 4: License Renewal Notification


You can start the renewal process by emailing the contact in the popup. To stop displaying the notification, click either Close () or Don't Show Again and refresh the page. 

  • Close - the notification re-appears if you use the product again before the license renews. 
  • Don't Show Again - you won't receive any more renewal notifications about the product license, although you will receive a separate reminder if another product is due to expire. 


If any of your product licenses do expire, you'll see the expiry notice page displayed (Figure 5).


Figure 5: License Expiry


Note on Offline License Renewals: If you're using an offline version of the product, you'll need to download the product zip file and upload them to Qlik Sense after the license is renewed. You can find step-by-step instructions here. Online customers don't need to complete this step.


Back to Contents

K
Kenneth is the author of this solution article.

Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.